Attention Canadians, Mexico is safe!!

For craft beer lovers that is.

Coming from Ireland where an all-inclusive holiday meant eating from the human equivalent of a pig’s trough, it was with great trepidation that I went on an AI to the Caribbean when I first came to Canada. I was blown away by the experience, in disbelief that there could be more than one restaurant, even more incredulous that there could be a la carte menus and table service. The childhood memories of shuffling like cattle to the “Eating Place” were banished forever.

What has always disappointed me when I go down South however is the beer that I am subjected to. As a craft beer drinker for about 5 years now, it is the single biggest fear of mine as I leave Canada (feel free to call me out on my 1st world problems). The draft beer at the resorts is without fail an adjunct laden standard lite lager, designed to quench the collective thirsts of the masses with their standard issue Bubba Kegs.

Just last week I spent 10 nights at the fantastic El Dorado Seaside Suites near Playa Del Carmen. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they had Heineken on tap along with Dos Equis Amber, a better beer situation than expected. However after a couple of days I started to pine for something with a bit more character and complexity.

I took a trip to a local supermarket and almost cried when I saw they had a decent beer selection. There was plenty of international choices, but I wanted to try some of the local craft beers to see how they are progressing down there. I picked up 4 different beers by the Cucapa brewery and a couple of locally made German style beers from Bayernbrau (doesn’t get much more German than that!). I have to say I was impressed, although the west coast hops I was craving were notable by their absence.

CUCAPA

Cucapa

I tried 4 of Cucapa’s lineup, including:

An English pale ale which was quite good and reminded me a lot of a Marston’s Pedigree, showcasing juicy malt flavours and some restrained but noticeable hop character.

The American brown ale, while quite enjoyable, lacked the west coast citrus and pine notes that I was hoping for. It did display some nice dryness though that I was grateful for.

A Blond ale reminiscent of a Leffe, cereal/grainy notes with some light fruits and after it warmed up a little some sweet vanilla. Snappy carbonation and a refreshingly bitter and semi-dry finish. Just wish I had a nice chalice glass!

I almost didn’t pick up the honey amber ale, which would have been a big mistake. It was probably my favorite of the bunch, not nearly as sweet as I had imagined. The honey rather lent it a depth much like a light version of a mead.

See their website (http://www.cucapa.com/) for some of the other interesting beers they are doing. Quel surprise they have a tequila barrel aged ale!

BAYERNBRAU

http://www.cervezaweissbier.mx

Bayernbrau dunkel was very satisfying, lovely dark malty aromas and flavours with some dark fruits and licorice. Reminded me of the Warsteiner dunkel. I could see pairing this up nicely with some sticky BBQ ribs, heck I’d probably throw some in the sauce!

Bayernbrau Hefe Weissbier was outstanding, with the requisite phenolics in the aroma (clove and bubblegum), a great big pillowy head, some nice citrus notes on the palate. Finished extremely clean and crisp thanks to excellent carbonation. This is a hefe that would stand up to many of the German classics, and would pair beautifully with most salads, fish dishes (particularly those prepared using lemon) and of course egg-fueled breakfasts.

So fear not, craft beer lovers, for you Mexico is safe, apart from the danger of decapitation and shark attacks, which may also involve decapitation.

2 thoughts on “Attention Canadians, Mexico is safe!!

  1. And the Gobblin goes abroad! Great write-up. Despite the absence of Western hops, do you think the Cucapas would pair well with local Mexican spice?

    • Contrary to popular belief, Mexican food is not that spicy, it’s the Tex-Mex variety that kicks up the spice a notch. Having said that, the Cucapa blond ale would carry enough bitterness match some heat, and the brown ale would pair well with traditional mole sauces. Thanks for your question!

Leave a comment